Wednesday, December 12, 2012

Kappa Delta Pi Welcomes 14 New Members During Induction Ceremony

The Bethany College Education Department on Dec. 2 inducted 14 students into the Alpha Beta Tau Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi, an international honor society in education. The new members are: Alana Allen, Brenna Anderson, Mike Bashioum, Chelsea Benson, Mindy Bierhals, Emily Jump, Corey Mays, Jessica Miller, Kristina Moff, Deanna Morrison, Bethany Mullins, Allison Pegg, Heidi Soriano and Alex Tylka.

Chad Barnett, headmaster of Linsley School and a Bethany alumnus, was the guest speaker. Following the ceremony, Angela Icard, assistant professor of education and Kappa Delta Pi adviser, introduced the new officers for the coming year: Chelsea Benson, president; Allison Pegg, vice-president; Jessica Miller, secretary; and Brenna Anderson, treasurer.

Selection as a member of Kappa Delta Pi is based on high academic achievement, commitment to education as a career, and a professional attitude that assures steady growth in the profession. Students must have sophomore status and have completed 12 credits in education with a 3.25 GPA to be considered for membership. The Alpha Beta Tau Chapter at Bethany College was installed on Oct. 24, 2004, and has inducted more than 200 members.

For more stories about Bethany College, please visit the website.